In A First, Govt Confers 5 Bharat Ratna Award In Single Yr – Kashmir Observer

In A First, Govt Confers 5 Bharat Ratna Award In Single Yr – Kashmir Observer

Former prime ministers Narasimha Rao (centre), Chaudhary Charan Singh and agricultural scientist MS Swaminathan

New Delhi- The choice to award Bharat Ratna to former prime ministers P V Narasimha Rao and Charan Singh and inexperienced revolution pioneer M S Swaminathan has taken the variety of recipients of the nation’s highest civilian award to 53, 5 of them inside 2024, most in a 12 months thus far.

Until now, the utmost Bharat Ratnas had been awarded in 1999 when 4 recipients got the coveted award.

Former prime ministers P V Narasimha Rao, whose liberalisation insurance policies revolutionised the financial system, and Charan Singh, a champion of farmers’ trigger, and inexperienced revolution pioneer M S Swaminathan can be conferred Bharat Ratna, Prime Minister Narendra Modi introduced on Friday.

Singh, a Jat chief from western Uttar Pradesh, was one of many pioneers of the anti-Congress politics at a time when the Congress was the hegemonic political pressure.

Rao, a Telugu, is broadly recognised for ushering in financial reforms.

Famend Indian agricultural scientist Swaminathan was instrumental in creating high-yielding sorts of wheat and rice, which considerably elevated meals grain manufacturing throughout India in the course of the Sixties and Nineteen Seventies. He’s credited with serving to India obtain self-reliance in agriculture throughout difficult occasions and made excellent efforts in direction of modernising Indian agriculture.

The final Bharat Ratna award was conferred upon Pranab Mukherjee in 2019 and was posthumously awarded to Bhupendra Kumar Hazarika and Nanaji Deshmukh. The award was not given to anybody between 2020 and 2023.

The Authorities of India had instituted two civilian awards – Bharat Ratna and Padma Vibhushan – in 1954. The latter had three courses particularly Pahela Varg, Dusra Varg and Tisra Varg. These had been subsequently renamed as Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri via a presidential notification on January 8, 1955.

The Bharat Ratna is the best civilian award of the nation. It’s awarded in recognition of outstanding service or efficiency of the best order in any discipline of human endeavour. It’s handled on a unique footing from Padma awards.

The suggestions for Bharat Ratna are made by the prime minister to the president. No formal suggestions for Bharat Ratna are crucial.

It was given to 3 individuals in a 12 months on a number of events, together with in 2019, 1997, 1992, 1991, 1955 and 1954.

On a number of events it was given to 2 individuals together with in 2015, 2014, 2001, 1998, 1990, 1963 and 1961, whereas there have additionally been years when the award was not conferred on anybody.

Within the first 12 months, the coveted award was conferred upon C Rajagopalachari, Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan and Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman.

These conferred with this award prior to now embody Jawaharlal Nehru, Rajendra Prasad, Zakir Hussain, Lal Bahadur Shastri, Abul Kalam Azad, Indira Gandhi, Ok Kamraj, Mom Teresa, Vinoba Bhave, M G Ramachandran, B R Ambedkar, Nelson Mandela, Rajiv Gandhi, Vallabhbhai Patel, Morarji Desai, Satyajit Ray, A P J Abdul Kalam, Jayaprakash Narayan, Amartya Sen, Sachin Tendulkar, Atal Bihari Vajpayee and Madan Mohan Malaviya.

The opposite recipients are Bhagwan Das, M Visvesvaraya, Govind Ballabh Pant, Dhondo Keshav Karve, Bidhan Chandra Roy, Purshottam Das Tandon, Pandurang Vaman Kane, Varahgiri Venkata Giri, Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan, Jahangir Ratanji Dadabhai Tata, Gulzarilal Nanda, Bismillah Khan, M Subbulakshmi, Gopinath Bordoloi, Pandit Ravi Shankar, C N R Rao, Bhimsen Gururaj Joshi, Lata Mangeshkar, Chidambaram Subramaniam and Aruna Asaf Ali.

On conferment of the award, the recipient receives a Sanad (certificates) signed by the President and a medallion. The award doesn’t carry any financial grant.

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be A part of High quality Journalism

High quality journalism takes a number of time, cash and onerous work to provide and regardless of all of the hardships we nonetheless do it. Our reporters and editors are working additional time in Kashmir and past to cowl what you care about, break huge tales, and expose injustices that may change lives. In the present day extra persons are studying Kashmir Observer than ever, however solely a handful are paying whereas promoting revenues are falling quick.



#Govt #Confers #Bharat #Ratna #Award #Single #Kashmir #Observer

Kashmir Tourism

Kashmir News

Source Link


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply